Cape Girardeau Personal Injury Lawyers
Cape Girardeau Office
1440 Kurre Lane Cape Girardeau, MO 63701
When your injuries are caused by the carelessness of another, you may be able to gain compensation through a personal injury case.
If you’ve been injured, a Cape Girardeau personal injury lawyer can assess your case and advise you on how to take legal action.
Contact NST Law today to arrange a free consultation with an experienced Cape Girardeau personal injury attorney.
Table of Contents
What is personal injury law?
Personal injury law is a type of civil law that exists to protect people from the financial consequences of an injury caused by another person’s negligence or wrongdoing.
Even if another’s negligence constitutes a crime and they face prosecution, a criminal case won’t help a victim gain compensation for damages. You’ll need to work with a personal injury attorney to build a case for civil court.
Types of Personal Injury Cases We Handle at NST Law
NST Law has experience representing all types of personal injury clients. Here are some of the most common types of cases we handle.
Steps to Take After a Personal Injury in Cape Girardeau
How you react in the immediate aftermath of an injury can make or break your chances of receiving compensation. The following steps are recommended to best protect yourself after an accident.
Involving the police and seeing a doctor help establish official documentation of the accident.
Consulting an attorney before speaking with an insurance agent protects you from making statements that can disqualify you from coverage.
What is my personal injury case worth?
The value of a personal injury case is different for every client. Overall case value depends on the extent of damages and their long-term effects.
Serious injuries like traumatic brain injury or spinal cord injury can bring high life-long care expenses and the need for ongoing medical procedures. Your case value will reflect these costs.
Drivers in Missouri are required to carry the following minimum insurance coverage amounts:
|$25,000||bodily injury per person|
|$50,000||bodily injury per accident|
Since these numbers are only the minimum legal requirement, a negligent driver may be covered for higher amounts.
Types of Available Damages
There are two primary types of damages available in a Missouri personal injury case.
Economic damages are intended to reimburse you for demonstrable costs incurred by the accident. Economic damages include the cost of:
● Medical bills
● Prescription drugs
● Medical devices
● Lost wages and earning ability
Noneconomic damages exist to provide victims with a form of compensation for damages that cannot be measured by a dollar amount. Examples of noneconomic damages include:
● Pain and suffering
● Mental anguish
● Emotional distress
● Loss of companionship
Damages are unique to every case. They will depend on the extent of the accident and your attorney’s ability to conclusively demonstrate them in legal proceedings.
Who Can I Sue?
The person who caused your injuries can be held responsible for your financial losses. Some cases are more complicated, involving multiple parties.
For example, if a negligent driver was working when they caused an accident, you may also be able to sue entities including:
In a medical malpractice case, you can sue the hospital or your health care provider. When a defective product causes injury, you can sue the manufacturer or other responsible parties.
Proving Liability in a Cape Girardeau Personal Injury Case
Proving liability in a Cape Girardeau personal injury case depends on proving negligence. Negligence is a four-pronged legal concept:
• A duty of care was owed to the injured party.
• The duty of care was violated.
• That violation resulted in damages.
• The damages can be proven.
If your attorney can prove there has been negligence, the responsible party can be held liable for your damages.
How can an attorney help?
Gaining fair compensation in a personal injury case depends on working with an experienced Cape Girardeau personal injury attorney who knows how to build a strong suit.
Your attorney may:
Conduct an Investigation
Establish a target compensation goal
Handle Insurance paperwork and communication
Negotiate a settlement amount
Represent you in court
Each case and client will have unique needs. Your attorney will provide you with the personalized services you need to maximize your chances of gaining compensation.
Statute of Limitations for Cape Girardeau PI Lawsuits
The Missouri statute of limitations for personal injury is five years. This is a longer period than most states allow, but that’s no reason to delay.
It takes time to document and build a personal injury case. Waiting to take legal action can seriously hurt your chances of receiving compensation.
Who can file a wrongful death claim?
Wrongful death claims can be filed after negligence results in death, and they can bring high compensation amounts. Wrongful death actions can only be undertaken by close relatives like parents, children, spouses, guardians, or representatives. There is a three-year statute of limitations on filing a wrongful death claim.
Why should I hire the Cape Girardeau personal injury lawyers at NST Law
to help me if I’m injured?
The experienced Cape Girardeau personal injury lawyers at NST Law have a long history of successful outcomes in personal injury cases. Over $1.5 billion in compensation money has been gained for clients by the NST Law legal team, and client reviews testify to the excellent representation provided by NST Law attorneys.
If you hope to gain compensation after a personal injury, NST Law has the experience and track record you need.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) About Cape Girardeau Personal Injuries
After suffering an injury due to someone else’s carelessness, you likely have many questions. The attorneys at NST Law value transparency and we are happy to provide answers to your questions and solutions as we can.
Missouri is a pure comparative fault state. Each party is given a percentage of responsibility. Even if you contributed to the accident or other incident resulting in your injury and losses, the other party can still be held financially responsible for the damages proportional to their percentage of blame. A personal injury attorney can help assess your share of liability and determine how that might affect your total compensation.
When an accident happens at work, it must be reported to your supervisor. Compensation is initially requested through workers’ compensation coverage. An attorney can help maximize the payout amount or appeal a denied claim.
NST Law works with clients on a contingency fee basis. You’ll only have to pay if we win your case, and payment will come out of your compensation amount per a percentage rate established before you hire us to handle your case. This allows you to take legal action regardless of your current financial circumstances.
Most cases settle through negotiation rather than going to trial. This allows you to maintain some control over the outcome, and negotiation is a much faster and less expensive alternative to a court case. However, NST Law has a long track record of winning court verdicts if a trial is necessary for your case.
Typically, a personal injury settlement is released to your attorney. Your legal representation will handle the payment of any legal fees, and the remainder is released to you unless there are any liens attached for payment of medical expenses. It may take a few weeks or a few months to receive your settlement money. Your attorney can help allocate funds and ensure a timely process to receive your settlement.
If a personal injury case is unsuccessful, you can appeal the outcome if you believe the trial court erred in its application of the law. NST Law can work to build a case for your appeal. Appeals often hinge on complex legal technicalities, so an experienced legal team is crucial to achieving a successful appeal.